Criminal Charges for University Students

By August 13, 2020No Comments

Criminal Charges for University Students

At the Walker Law Firm, we represent folks charged with a variety of criminal cases involving the possession of illegal drugs, DUI, property Crimes at Auburn Universitycrimes as well as assaults.  Recently someone asked me what the more common offense was that was charged against college students in Auburn, Alabama.  Criminal Charges for University Students come in many forms.  The following is in response to that question.  It is important to note though, for High School and College age students, an arrest at any level can be discovered in the future with a background check.  Many private employers as well as Government employers have routinely conducted background checks on perspective employees.  If you are fortunate enough to have resolved your troubles through the use of some type of Pre-Trial Diversion program, you still will need to file to clear your criminal records, of which there is no guarantee you will be successful in hiding your past.

  • Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
  • Minor in Possession of Alcohol or Underage Drinking
  • Disorderly Conduct/Public Intoxication
  • Possession of Marijuana

Driving Under the Influence is addressed thoroughly in other blog posts on this site.

Minor in Possession of Alcohol

Section 28-1-5 and Section 28-3A-25(19)(22)

In Alabama, depending on how this offense occurs, you can be charged a fine from $25-$500, have a driver’s license suspended and possible be sentenced to jail time of up to 3 months.  The driver’s license suspension is mandatory if the student used an altered license to obtain or attempt to obtain alcohol.  The suspension is from 90 days to 6 months.  This suspension will take place regardless of treatment by the trial Court.

Disorderly Conduct

Section 13A-11-7

A person in Alabama commits the crime of disorderly conduct if, with intent to cause public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, or recklessly creating a risk thereof, he or she does any of the following”

  1. Engages in fighting or in violent tumultuous or threatening behavior.
  2. Makes unreasonable noise.
  3. In a public place, uses abusive or obscene language or makes an obscene gesture.
  4. Without lawful authority, disturbs any lawful assembly or meeting of persons.
  5. Obstructs vehicular or pedestrian traffic, or a transportation facility.

Disorderly conduct is a Class C misdemeanor

Possession of Marijuana

13A-12-214. 13A-5-7, 13A-5-12

Possession of marijuana is a criminal offense.  Possession of marijuana for personal use, an amount less than one kilogram, or about 2 pounds, is a Class A Misdemeanor, when the defendant does not have any prior drug convictions.  Possible jail time is up to a year and a fine not to exceed $ 6,000.00.  Possession over that amount is a Class C Felony, which is punishable by a sentence of a year and a day up to ten years and a fine of up to $ 15,000.00.

If you or your student has been charged with a criminal offense in Auburn, Alabama, we are here to help you.  Let our skilled attorneys with decades of experience and great reviews help you with this matter.  Contact us to hear about our strategies that we will use to help you resolve this matter quickly.

Walker Law Firm
225 N. Gay Street
Auburn, Alabama 36830


Author halwalker

More posts by halwalker

Leave a Reply